Mukti

Notes from a Conference

Posted in activism by jrahman on September 5, 2008

I represented Drishtipat in a conference titled ‘Changing Asia: forging partnerships, building sustainability’ held in Manila on 29-30 Aug. The Conference was held by the Asia Forum to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Magsaysay Award, and more details are available here. Other representatives from Bangladesh were: the Prothom Alo editor Matiur Rahman; Father Richard Timm of Human Rights Hotline; and Sharif Kafi of another NGO.

In what follows, I summarise the Conference proceedings, and where appropriate, my take on things.

(More at UV)

Tagged with:

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Manila thoughts « Mukti said, on September 8, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    […] society — jrahman @ 5:51 pm Tags: Dhaka, Manila I was in Manila recently attending a conference.  I spent a week in the city, though part of it was spent cooped up in the hotel room.  One can […]

  2. fugstar said, on September 9, 2008 at 1:23 am

    how cool were Muhamadiya? and when are our folks in desh going to pull something like that off?

  3. jrahman said, on September 10, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    I don’t know about the rest of the organisation, but Mr Ahmad Syafii Maarif was way cool. Not only in Desh, but also in the West rarely have I seen a cooler brother or sister.


Comments are closed.

