Mukti

The third Awami League government: a gutsy start to din bodol and the political mathematics of zero

Posted in politics by jrahman on January 7, 2009

I have been living in the outskirts of Dhaka for the past week, hearing jackals every evening, and waking up every morning with the symphony of birds. While I can now claim to be inspired by Farhad Mazhar (or is it that line from Jibon Theke Neoa – Desh ke bhalobashle grame jete hoi?), this rural touch means poor internet and limited power. So I missed the liveblogging of the cabinet last night. Just as well, because this gave me some time to collect my thoughts on the beginning of the third Awami League government. I would very much like to have written an unambiguous endorsement. And there are lots of things to endorse. Sadly, I fear all the good may yet come to nothing unless strong steps are taken to contain the party’s local excesses.

(More at UV)

Tagged with:

Comments Off on The third Awami League government: a gutsy start to din bodol and the political mathematics of zero

