Mukti

Azam Khan lives…

Posted in music by jrahman on June 6, 2011

… in his music.

Source: Prothom Alo.

All translations are by Naeem Mohaiemen.  Songs are collected from his Facebook page.

আলাল ও দুলাল (Alal o Dulal)

Alal and Dulal
Their father
Is Haji Chand

From Chankharpool they pedal
Until they get home
Their father is Haji Chand

If Alal goes right
Dulal will go left
Father is exhausted
From searching all day

Where is Alal?
Where is Dulal?
Nowhere Nowhere Nowhere Nowhere

From Chankharpool they pedal
Until they get home
Their father
Is Haji Chand

If Alal is on the branch
Dulal is on the roof
A plague on our neighborhood
All day

Where is Alal?
Where is Dulal?

ওরে সালেকা ওরে মালেকা  (Ore Saleka Ore Maleka)

O Saleka
O Maleka
O Foolbanu
None of you could save her

In the dusk moments
She went there alone
Why the brute force
Snatched her away

I was alone
Finally
What did I get
By loving her

মা গো মা  (Maa Go Maa)

Mother oh mother
I know you are worried
I am your sinful son
You still don’t understand

You knew mother
This world is awash in sin
People are born knowing all this
No point in false tears

Your pain
I can’t stand to see any more.
If you don’t forgive
There won’t be any rest

জ্বালা জ্বালা  (Jala Jala)

The day
That went away
Will never come back

Why do I
Keep remembering
Lost days

The burn burning is in my mind
The burn burning is my life

Frustration

এত সুন্দর দুনিয়ায় (Eto Shundor Duniai)

Oh Allah
Oh Allah

In this beautiful world
Nothing will survive
Only Allah Only Allah

Money
House
Home
Car
Nothing will go with you
To Israefeel’s throne

Love
Affection
Feelings
All a game of two days
All of it will vanish

আমি যারে চাই রে (Ami Jare Chaire)

He whom I want
He is inside my own self
I find him
And lose him again

He is here
And then disappears
He lives in the universe

Worship is freedom
I know this is true
Desire will be fulfilled
Through practice

—–

As best as I can tell, these are original recordings.  There is one glaring omission — Bangladesh, his most iconic song.  I can’t find the original recording of Bangladesh.  Will be grateful if anyone can point to it.

বাংলাদেশ (Bangladesh)

In the slum on the railroad tracks
Was born a little boy
His mother can’t stop crying
My son is already dead

Oh my (cursed) Bangladesh
Bangladesh
Bangladesh
Bangladesh

So many hopes in this life
All memories wiped out in death
His mother can’t stop crying
Where is my son

So many mothers drowning in tears
Who will explain or how
He who leaves
Does he ever return?

Tagged with:

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Heroes are leaving us — Azam Khan said, on June 6, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    […] Here are some of his most iconic songs, with translations by Naeem Mohaiemen. […]

  2. Bangla rocks: Jyoti Rehman « Kafila said, on December 16, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    […] been able to find an original recording of the song online (a later, and not-so-good cover is here, along with his other hits). Another song that captured the angry mood of the time is Jala Jala – […]

  3. Bangla Rocks « Mukti said, on December 17, 2011 at 3:23 am

    […] been able to find an original recording of the song online (a later, and not-so-good cover is here, along with his other hits).  Another song that captured the angry mood of the time is Jala […]


Comments are closed.

