Mukti

On Mandela

Posted in history, people, Uncategorized by jrahman on December 6, 2013

There is not much to say about one of the greatest persons of our time.  Still, just for the record, I found the Onion to be particularly insightful in its irreverent way: Nelson Mandela’s death is the only one on record that people everywhere unanimously agree has left the world notably worse off.

I certainly don’t remember Bangladeshi aantels agreeing on anything in the past year.  But then again, the word irony is not enough to capture the sight of Shahbag revelers’ sorrow for Mandela.  On the other hand, stuff like ‘if only Mujib was like Mandela’ does not to justice to either men.

When I first started to form my views, on music, not politics, Mr Mandela was still in jail, still reciting these words:

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate,
I am the captain of my soul.

And I listened to this:

Tagged with:

Comments Off on On Mandela

